MODULE 1: THEORIES OF LEARNING

“I learn things by heart, I share it by heart. ”

I did figure out which learning styles work best for me. When I was in college, I was able to utilize many techniques in order for me to have a meaningful study. I wrote down notes, even when this was not required during a lecture. I summarized what I learned into an index card after class. When reviewing, I make sure that distractions were being kept away for optimum concentration. I usually selected a suitable place. I kept valuables in a bag, or far away enough for them not to attract my attention. When no class schedule, I went to library to have further reading about the topic. I consider also myself as a visual learner, which I learn by using sight. I visualized images from the past when trying to remember. I recalled information best through pictures and images. I just loved doing this during exams. I was able to picture out my notes in a certain topic. This applied to my Philippine History subject. One way that was also important for me which gave me a significant contribution during my college level days was the “mastering learning” method. I kept on practicing each topic through lot of exercises concept until I have mastered it, before moving on to the next topic. I kept trying until I did really well. I looked for as many opportunities as possible to practice, like extra problem sets, background reading.

As I have read in an article online http://www.illumine.co.uk/blog/2011/05/why-some-people-learn-faster-than-others/, one reason that other learn better/faster is because of the person’s interest in a certain subject. Being interested in a subject is a key to learning it quickly. This is because the human brain takes in vast amounts of information, but chooses to retain only select parts of it.  We tell our brains what parts to retain by paying much closer attention to those types of information.  Simply having a true interest in a subject and an eagerness to learn about it will cause the learner to pay attention when information is presented.  This in turn will lead to increased learning.

A related key to rapid learning is an excellent memory.  Certainly there is more to learning than mere memorization, but in most domains of knowledge, some facts and figures must be retained before the student can move to the next level, which is developing the ability to think critically about them.  Therefore memory is a necessary prerequisite to the rest of the activities included in the act of learning. Some people seem to be naturally blessed with memories that function better than average from a young age, while others struggle to memorize short pieces of data such as individual entries in the multiplication tables or the spelling of basic non-phonetic words such as ‘eye’.  The reasons for these discrepancies are not fully understood, but one thing is clear from the research, that with conscious effort, even weak memories can be improved.

Brain experts compare the memory faculties of the human mind to a muscle.  While this analogy is not without its flaws, it is instructive in some respects.  Just as a muscle can be strengthened through exercise, the memory can be improved through the regular use of mental exercises.  It becomes easier for students and even adults to learn new information by rote if they have regularly practiced the skill.  As memory faculties improve, individuals will achieve the goal of learning faster, since future tasks will take less effort than previous ones due to the increased strength of the individual’s memory.

Let’s talk more about learning achievementI think I can say that a person is successfully learned when he is able to act and think appropriately in a certain situation. He is able to decide/act in a way that this is beneficial for the common good. He is a person that is able to confidently face all challenges and failures in his life. He is a person of contentment and will be able to use all learned things that he had in all sort of life’s aspects.

According to http://en.wikipedia.org/, academic achievement is the outcome of education — the extent to which a student, teacher or institution has achieved their educational goals while learning achievement, according Nurkencana (1986: 62) suggests that it is the result had been achieved or acquired form of the subject child. It added that learning achievement is the result of which resulted in changes within the individual as a result of activity in learning. After tracing the above description, it is understandable that learning achievement is the result or level of ability that has been achieved by students after attending a teaching-learning process within a certain time in the form of changes in behavior, skills and knowledge and will then be measured and assessed and then realized in numbers or statement.

I’m a future guiding force in a student’s life. I will be responsible for molding a student’s personality and shaping his/her mental orientation. With this I want to be an “Ideal Teacher”. I will respect them at all times. I act as a guide to the students, while not pushing them too much. I motivate them and boosts their morale. I encourage my students and refrain from criticizing them. I want to be a great motivator to my students, if not the best motivator, because this quality is my strength in fulfilling my main goal which is to assist/ guide them in their learning. I want to motivate them so that they will be consistently focus with the lessons that we discuss everyday. I believe that motivation is a great key to learning faster/better. On the other hand, I want to upgrade my creativity when it comes to classroom teaching. I want to research more about making a class discussion more effective and learning more enjoyable. Of course these are basics but I think mastering/improving the basics of teaching will assist me to accomplish my daily goals as a teacher in the classroom. As much as possible, unlimited patience is an attitude for me to master by heart. Yes, it’s easy to say, “I am patient”, but I think this statement should be put and practice by heart and be applied at all times in teaching students. 

Leave a Reply

