MODULE 5: CAN STUDENTS LEARN TO LEARN?

Metacognition is important for effective learning. Effective learning involves planning and goal-setting, monitoring one’s progress, and adapting as needed. I believe these activities are metacognitive in nature. There are three critical steps to teaching metacognition: Teaching students that their ability to learn is mutable, Teaching planning and goal-setting, Giving students ample opportunities to practice monitoring their learning and adapting as necessary. Explicitly teaching students how to become overtly and consciously familiar with the methods they use to learn why they use them, how they work, why they work, when to apply them and how to apply them can help them think more like experts.

Am I a self-regulated learner?
When you plan your learning, monitor your progress while implementing the plan, evaluate and reflect from it, then you are a self regulated learner.
When I was in my elementary days, I think I was not a self regulated learner. I just waited for my teacher to discuss/explain the lesson. I only became a self-regulated learner when I was in college.
I read and analyze my daily assignments, then set my goals and I make sure that these goals are clear.I plan learning strategies and I consider a variety of ways to approach the learning task which is most effective. The methods used are outlining, summarizing, highlighting. When implementing my plan, I monitor and make sure that I have a progress towards my learning goal. I do note-taking and write a list of errors made. In the end, I will evaluate if my chosen strategy to implement my learning has worked. Lastly, I reflect all my works that has been accomplished successfully.

Why can’t I think like an expert?
The main reason that I cannot think like an expert is that I am not able to apply the self regulation strategy. In order for me to think like an expert, I need to be a self-regulated learner by heart. I need to practice the strategies to become a self regulated learner at all times.

According to educational researchers, a person must be sufficiently engaged in a learning experience in order to correct, modify and refine his or her existing knowledge structures to promote transfer of learning. The strategy is to provide opportunity for reflection and self-explanation. Reflection strategies encourage people to expand on what they are learning and to identify where they have deficiencies in order to correct them. Yes, my participation in forum discussions absolutely facilitate the transfer of my learning. I believe that this develops higher order thinking skills. I believe in what John Dewey has stated, “We do not learn from experience…we learn from reflecting on experience.”

https://sites.google.com/site/reflection4learning/why-reflect
http://www.intime.uni.edu/model/learning/refl.html
http://theelearningcoach.com/elearning_design/transfer-of-learning/
http://fcit.usf.edu/mathvids/strategies/tms.html

Leave a Reply

